PNM logo

Delicious Silence

(2010) for solo violin

duration: 6 minutes

premiere: Liana Gourdjia, Guest Recital, Indiana University School of Music.




Perusal Score


Program Note

"The delicious silence throngs with ghosts of wing├Ęd sound and shadow."
                                                                   Conrad Aiken, Preludes for Memnon

Delicious Silence was written for violinist Liana Gourdjia and is built out of a motto based on pitches suggested by letters in her name: A-G-C-D. This short piece is in three sections, an introduction and exposition, a development that is increasingly agitated and builds to a climax, and a reflective conclusion. Along with the ever-present motto and its transformations, another recurring element is a repeating tone, speeding up and slowing down. No meters are used in the score, and the work is played with a great deal of freedom and perhaps sounds almost improvised.

(David Dzubay)

Score Samples

(page 1 of 3)