PNM logo

Nine Fragments

(1994) for oboe (or recorder) and harpsichord

duration: 8 minutes

Eva Legene (recorder) and Jeremy Denk (harpsichord), 9/12/97

Perusal Score


Program Note

In October of 1994, I met Heinz Holliger and heard him perform music by Carter, Donatoni, and himself. This composition was inspired by Mr. Holliger, and to a certain degree, by the music he performed on that occasion.

These nine short fragments alternate between five pulsed and four non-pulsed movements. Over the course of the work, the longer, pulsed movements become faster, louder, more agitated, while the brief, non-pulsed interludes are progressively quieter and shorter. Each fragment makes use of a twelve note row in varying ways - usually as melodic material or focal pitches; however, quite a bit of the music is freely composed around the row. The row forms and transpositions, as well as many of the textures, follow a palindromic structure pivoting on the central fragment.

The fragments should be performed with short pauses (approximately five seconds) in between.

The version for recorder was composed for Eva Legene.


Score Samples

(pages 1, 3, 4 of 17)

page 1

page 3

page 4